How do I apply for a marriage license?
According to Massachusetts law, you must jointly file intentions to marry with the city or town clerk in any community in the state. The filing cost ranges from $4.00 to $50.00 depending on the town in which you file.
Is there a waiting period?
Yes there is a mandatory three day waiting period once you receive your marriage license.
May we marry before the three day waiting period?
Yes. You must obtain a waiver from a court in which case you may marry the day after applying for your marriage license. The cost to do this is $195 and you will need to fill out a Marriage Without Delay form. Keep in mind that courts are only open on week days so if you apply on a Friday, you must obtain your waiver and return to the town hall with the waiver before town hall closes for the day.
Is a blood test required?
No, Massachusetts does not require couples to have a blood test to get married.
Is it necessary to have witnesses at the ceremony?
No, Massachusetts does not require witnesses to be present for your ceremony.
Frequently Asked Questions
At what age may a couple marry?
Massachusetts residents may marry if they are 18 years of age or older.
How long is a marriage license valid?
A Massachusetts marriage license is valid for 60 days from the date of issue.